Pyro zipper failure

Total Posts: 5

Joined 2008-01-12

PM

I have been quite happy with my Pro Pro drysuit ..until yesterday. While kiteboarding, when I fell in the water I felt a surge of cold water on my chest and discovered a 3 inch section in the middle of my zipper was not closed (the teeth were not engaged). Worse still, as I explored it, even more of the zipper opened up.

I always wax my zipper regularly. I have now carefully inspected it and can see nothing wrong, but everytime I close the zipper there is a short stretch in the middle that is not closed at all.

Any suggestions?

:(
Chris Glazier

Total Posts: 265

Joined 2006-11-15

PM

sjeez that is the first I ve heard of….. Best zippers in the industry.

Joined 2008-01-12

PM

The alarming thing is that the zipper appears closed but actually has a gap.
I have been using Pyro drysits for several years with no problems before.
See pictures below..if posting images is possible.
:wink:
Chris Glazier

Total Posts: 626

Joined 2006-03-24

PM

I am so glad you are OK Chris, thats kinda scarey.
I have a huge amount of respect for your water prowness, kiting and especially the reviews you’ve written. It was pretty cool to see you in person at Nitinat last summer.
What the heck do you think caused it fatigue, especially if you’re waxing it on a regular basis?
I think my surf dry has a similar zipper, and seems like the strongest part of the suit.

Total Posts: 1246

Joined 2006-01-10

PM

Hi Chris,

Couple thoughts

1) Contact Philippe, as I assume you bought this suit through him? He will be able to tell you if the suit falls into its warranty period or not - how old is it? We offer a 1 year warranty on all gear

2) The zipper is a very expensive and valuable part of all of our drysuits. Regular waxing is very important but there are also other important considerations (in making this list I am not making any assumptions on your maintenance of the suit Chris):