Kootenay Kiting

Total Posts: 125

Joined 2007-03-19

PM

Hey Crew,

I’m looking for information on kiting around the Fairmont/Invermere area. Lake Windermere near Inveremere could be alright, but it’s PACKED with boats, Seadoos, houseboats, and everything in between. I’ve driven past Columbia Lake just south of Fairmont loads of times in summer and it always looks awesome, but I’m not sure where/if there’s beach access - anyone ever tried this place out or know anything about it?

Cheers
Ned

Total Posts: 3

Joined 2009-05-23

PM

Hey Ned

I am new to the whole kite scene… but have spent some time in the Columbia Valley.  I think that Columbia lake is your best bet.  Access would be from either North or South ends.  I have not scoped a good launch area because last time I was flying over the lake I was not a kiter.  But I have seen windsurfers on the North end and when it blows there it really honks.  Several days around 25-35kts.  You would want to drive down into the community by the little golf course south of the hoodoos and make your way down to the boat launch.  From there you could have a look for a launch site.  I think there is also another boat launch on the South East side of the lake near Canal Flats.  Fairly shallow down there too so might be some great flat water riding.
Let me know how you make out…I will have my gear with me this summer…hopefully if the stars line up…will get my kite out on Columbia.

Cheers
D

Joined 2007-03-19

PM

Thanks Davo!

I have been vacationing with my family at Fairmont Hot Springs for about 10 years (a week every summer), so I’ve seen those 25-35 kts you are talking about, hence I’m super keen to find a launch. Good to know there are some windsurfers out there, means there’s at least some kind of access. If you’ll be there in early July let me know. Will definitely be checking it out though.

Total Posts: 3

Joined 2009-05-23

PM

Sounds great…if there is smoke in the air…I will likely be around!