Kite size selection

Total Posts: 10

Joined 2009-09-19

PM

I am new to the sport, just getting started and looking for a littlle help selecting a kite and board for entry level freeride, I can grow with.

I am 130lbs, aggressive snowboarder, and wakeboarder.  The places I will be kiting have tricky launches, a lot of chop, and gusty inconsistent conditions. 

For kites - I am considering a 8M vs 10M OR Rise?  Is there big difference between the 08 and 09 versions? 

Boards - I am considering a 09 mako 140cm, or the 08 mako classic? Is there a significant difference or any other suggestions. 

Thanks for any input or suggestions! All input is appreciated.

Total Posts: 108

Joined 2007-01-24

PM

We might need a little more information.

What is the typical wind speed at your local spots? That will make a difference on the kite sizes. Higher wind spot then the 8 (20+ maybe), otherwise the 10. Also depends if you are going to have a 2+ kite quiver or just stick with one kite.

I do not think there is a “big” difference between the 08 and 09 Rises. Remember the 2010 kites are shipping soon as well.

For a beginner (and probably anyone) I would say go with the Mako 140…it is just a great all-around board that is fun for any level.

Total Posts: 128

Joined 2007-03-19

PM

I am about 130 lbs as well.

Riding in Victoria where the winds tend to be moderate to strong - usually 15+ kts if there’s going to be enough to ride. I was using a 9m and 12m quiver for my first year or so, but found that I basically never used the 12m. I’ve since sold those kites and went to a 6m and 10m and never really missed a day. I’ve since added an 8m, as for the wind conditions here most often are ideal for that kite (18-25 or so is great).

So, like Dave said, it depends on wind conditions as well as how many kites you want to buy. Hopefully that will give you a good idea of what to expect out of the sizes relative to winds.