2011 Surf Series Directional Board 5’11”

Total Posts: 573

Joined 2006-10-06

PM

OK. I need a new ride. Right now I’m looking at all the Mako boards but would like to hear from riders on the benefits of this directional surf board over say the Mako King or other brand directionals?

I’d like to hear from riders as to this boards’ overall performance in particular it’s lighter wind capabilities, compared to the king for example. I am aware that the previous OR directional - the Mako Surf was not a light wind board and required plenty of kite power to make it work. Is it the same with this new design?

I have little experience on directional boards (I’ve never surfed and have spent most of my kiting trying to learn freestyle stuff.) but want to develop this style of riding now that I have found a good wave spot locally.

My weight is around 65kg and I want to use the board with the 8m Razor.

Hope someone here can give me their thoughts in due course.

Signature

andy

Dorset UK

Total Posts: 285

Joined 2007-10-30

PM

Yeah,

get this post started!

Cant recomend getting a surfboard enough.  I’m die hard boots, but actually ride strapless more than 50% of the time and enjoy the TT so much more in appropriate conditions.

The surfboard and TT are a complete two board quiver, and can bridge nicely between kites that are a couple meters dif in size.  Whats more strapless riding is fantastic fun and breathes life into the kind of waves we get here on the great lakes.

If you dont have a surfboard, you need one!