Rope thickness
Posted: 04 July 2011 08:48 PM   [ Ignore ]
Sr. Member
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  295
Joined  2008-04-20

Hi All,

(still) Looking for a depower rope replacement.

So we are talking about Dyneema, AmSteel single braid, for example.

Thought it would be nice to post for the “toolman’s” the measurements and thickness of the used ropes

So for the depowerrope:
2009 / 2010 setup you need 2.5m
2011 freeride setup you need 5.5m

Now the thickness, I measure 6 mm which equals 1/4” if I’m not wrong. Anyone know the exact used thickness?

Btw are flying lines the 7/64” ?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 July 2011 08:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  9
Joined  2011-05-28

http://oceanrodeo.com/forums/viewthread/2661/P60/ CHECK THIS..IT MIGHT HELP YOU

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 July 2011 08:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Sr. Member
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  295
Joined  2008-04-20

LOL
Haha yeah spot on, I posted there as well but I’m doubting the 3/8” thickness, looks like it is going to be too thick for the ring placement.
There is something about line thickness and measurement, load or no load to the line with measurement.. thats the question..

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 July 2011 01:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Sr. Member
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  171
Joined  2008-11-09

Yeah, I have a new depower rope on my 2010 bar, and I swear it’s wearing really fast (as in I can feel it cutting into the rope after 5 sessions). I waxed the rope pretty solidly before I used it and in between sessions. Is it possible that there’s a imperfection in the center hole on the bar and that I need to somehow smooth it out?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 July 2011 04:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  79
Joined  2009-02-20

I think craig meant 3/16”, not 3/8”.

Profile
 
 
   
 
 
‹‹ 2012 line up leaked      Board Choice? ››