Board Choice?

Total Posts: 35

Joined 2008-11-25

PM

Hey, just wonder what the prevailing wisdom/experience is on the board that you ride. That is, does the board contribute much joy/value to the kite ride.

I use a pretty low end twintip and a floaty surfboard. I have a lot of fun on these. I now seem to have a bug about newer boards, in particular a mako, and possibly a thinner, lower volume, surfboard. Am I wasting precious resources if I start sniffing around these things?

I am a beginner, but going lots and improving. When I think of other activities, sometimes newer gear adds to the fun, and with other stuff, newer/more expensive gear doesn’t give much bang for the buck.

What do you think about boards? Mostly I am in flat water/chop/wind swell, but will do trips to the coast for waves.

Thanks a lot.

George

Total Posts: 58

Joined 2011-04-13

PM

IMO, the gear makes a huge difference.  I own and have ridden a lot of different gear.  From huge floaty 19m Flysurfers and Spleene doors to 7m tube kites and 122cm boards in all sorts of conditions.  I’m not a pro so .... there are some tricks I can do in light wind with big boards/kites that I will not even try in high wind with small kites/boards.  And vise versa.

I expect a smaller board will open you up to trying new things.

Good luck

Total Posts: 467

Joined 2006-06-15

PM

The best bet is try before you buy. Have a look in the dealer section and see if you can get a demo. The Mako is a superb board but only if it suits what you want to do

Total Posts: 244

Joined 2007-11-20

PM

I think that there are certain conditions for certain boards, as you’ve already found with the small twin-tip and surfboard.  Not having the perfect board might meant hat you have an average session or a bad session.  Having the right tool for the right job increases the chances of fun.