2011 10m Razor review

Total Posts: 79

Joined 2009-02-20

PM

Well, with the posts about 2012 gear starting to hit the forum, this may not be the most timely post, but I had a chance to demo the 2011 10m razor this week and figured i’d share my thoughts.  I’m an intermediate rider, 180lbs, riding a 135x41 underground flx.  wind was low 20’s, and i was at the gorge, so the current added a little to that.  I’ve been riding a 2009 10m rise for 2 years, so i’ll compare to that.

Bar pressure was a little heavier than the rise.  Not bad, but if you have kiter’s elbo issues, something to consider.

I don’t think there was any noticable difference in upwind ability vs the ‘09 rise, which is superb.

Transitions were much nicer on the razor, it just rips you thru the turn with no stall.  On my ‘09 rise there seems to be a slight stall in power as the kite comes around.  This doesn’t happen on the razor.  really powered transitions.

The razor seems to need a bit more bar input to make the kite initiate a turn, a slight movement of the bar doesn’t do much.  once in motion, it turns and comes across the window faster than the rise.  This is probably good for stability while doing tricks, and something that would probably be easy to get used to, but i felt like i needed to talk it into initiating turns, whereas with my rise, i just think about moving the kite and its on its way.

Riding downwind with the swell was great, the kite effortlessly drifts downwind waiting for further instructions from you.  this kite would be great for waves.