Where to travel?

Total Posts: 4

Joined 2011-08-21

PM

Well I’m new to kite boarding this year. Been learning the hard way in shopping and in learning to kite, but I have really been enjoying the sport for the most part and I’m an addict already.

As frustrating as it can be to get the right gear and get started in this sport I’d like to shout out to the OR team and say thanks for helping me finally get a good kite that is just a blast to fly.

At any rate I was just wondering if any one here has suggestions on some good places to go down south to get kite lessons and learn to be a competent rider…..I almost got up on my board finally on Saturday but not enough power. Then Monday I got tossed around lake Ontario like a little rag doll….obviously my 14 m Diablo was too much, I was amazed I could control it like I did though…was just way too much in the power zone and I for once didn’t bring my 7m LF which I don’t like to use anyway and probably would have been too light..

Point is I think I am running out of time to learn and get my first ride in, was super cold on Monday too….I’ve done countless hours of training with my 3m ozone flow trainer kite and took a lesson in TO, but the unpredictable winds and the distance to get to TO from my place is really challenging…So I started to look down south to see if I could find some good places that I can really put a solid week or maybe two in and get some good training… I’m so damn close but am just missing the ideal conditions I think to push me over the edge….places for beginners here are minimal and the ones we do have are often pretty wavy, a long hike to get to and turbulent.

Any one have any suggestions…I have been looking at Brazil which is kind of expensive and the Dominican which looks much less expensive and has more all inclusive options…..I did like the look of some of the lagoons in Brazil though….less sharks maybe? hahaha It also looks a little more peaceful and not as busy.

any thoughts?

Thanks