Trouble Depowering 12m Rise w/ Freeride Bar

Total Posts: 3

Joined 2011-11-29

PM

The title pretty much says it all.  I’m a beginner, about 15 sessions on the water now in 4 months.  Able to stay up wind and more, small jumps, having a great time.  The problem is the only time I am able to pull down on my depower line is when the wind is very light and I wouldn’t need to depower.  It’s been suggested that I always have about an inch of depower in “so it doesn’t get stuck” but that hasn’t made a difference.  I’m riding a 2011 12m Rise and Freeride Bar.  Any suggestions about what I might be doing wrong or if I could possibly have something set up wrong or not working properly. 
Thanks!

Kiting in Kailua & Kaneohe Bays - Oahu

Total Posts: 517

Joined 2008-04-13

PM

Hi SnwbrdB, thanks for posting this and welcome to the Crew!
Cherish those first months, the progress and all the firsts!
I’m sorry to hear that trimming of the bar gives you some trouble. There are a couple of things you can try:
- try different pulling angles
- bear downwind a bit to get some tension off the lines
You’ll work it out for sure!
cheers,
Rudo

Total Posts: 466

Joined 2006-06-15

PM

The if you have a load of twists in the depower rope between the swivel and the chicken loop this can make life a tad interesting. The friction of the twists prevents the ropes sliding past each other. This is especially so if the depower rope is showing wear. Also check the pulley and make sure the rope is free to rotate around it. I bit of sand stuck under the cover can make all the difference.
El Rudo is right about the angles of pull . In stronger winds the depower rope is driven harder into the teeth of the cleat and needs pulling out in line with the cleat rather than sideways.

Joined 2011-11-30

PM