Kite tuning and line setups?

Total Posts: 6

Joined 2011-08-17

PM

Hi,
So I’m pretty new to kiting (15 sessions or so) and just wanting some tips and info on kite line settings. I have 2011 8m and 10m Razors a with large fusion bar (48cm setting), and they didn’t come with manuals. I found myself feeling really overpowered on my 8m recently when tons of people were on 8m kites handling them just fine. I had about 5-6 inches of depower and the kite was flapping a lot and moving back and forth, while i was almost completely sheeted out. I had the kite on the stock settings out of the bag which are middle setting on back line attachment and the back setting for the bridle, and connecting the kite to the end knot on the back lines from the bar. What can be expected when changing up these connections? and what are some recommended settings cos I have no idea and am a little nervous to mess with them. Also how much can you depower a 2011 razor?

Total Posts: 123

Joined 2007-03-19

PM

Hey Ethan,

Welcome to kiteboarding and the Ocean Rodeo Crew!

Ethan - 08 August 2012 04:18 AM

I had the kite on the stock settings out of the bag which are middle setting on back line attachment and the back setting for the bridle, and connecting the kite to the end knot on the back lines from the bar. What can be expected when changing up these connections?

In this case I would say move the front bridle connection forward which will give you more depower. Connecting to the end knot on the back lines of your bar will give you a touch more depower as well (just like you did already), but this really just changes how much trim you need to take in at the bar and is pretty minor.