Rise 10/13m, Razor 10/12m?

Total Posts: 6

Joined 2014-03-30

PM

Hi, I am 70kg and am looking to buy my first (second hand) kite. I have the option of 10m and 13m Rise (2011) and 10m and 12m Razors. I have a 142 JTpro board and normal winds here are 10-25kts.  I have read much here about them and all seem to be good options, but it would be nice if you could give me some advice in my particular case.  I am a beginner too, but have read the Razor should not be ruled out for beginners.
Thanks,
S

Total Posts: 516

Joined 2008-04-13

PM

Hi,
1st of all, the 10, 12 and 13 will all give you a hand full in 25 knots but it can be done. I have owned 2 out of three kites you mention (slightly different vintage) and at 100kg, the range for the 10m Rise up to high twenties gusting low thirties, for you that would more be like mid twenties / high twenties.
great kite! lwo end should open up at 16/17 knots depending skills, boards etc.
The 13m Rise, I have the 2010 version, got a long lasting love affair going with it. Session saver! Should get you going 13 ish up to 20 depending on ball size.
The 12m Razor will give you the same low end, practically the same range as the 13m Rise. Not the easiest to fly, requires attention but certainly among the most powerful kites out there, you’ll max out at 24knots.

It’s not clear to me if you’re planning on getting the three, the 12 and 13 are overlapping too much. I’d pick the Razor, more fun than the Rise, although somewhat more difficult to boost. In waves and big chop, Razor. Great downlooping kite!
For a 3 kite quiver maybe add in a 7m Prodigy, there was a nice closeout on these recently.

For 2nd hand OR kites, basic construction should not be a worry but check for small holes (easy to patch with the repair kit, should be in the bag). If they have serious mileage, check the bridle insert lines where the pulleys run. Usually you can reverse these lines, swap the worn side for the unused side.