Pricing Question and Sizing Info Requested

Total Posts: 9

Joined 2007-06-01

PM

Morning all, first post here!

I have decided to buy my first OR kite!

I have the oppertunity to buy a brand new 2006 OR One 16m with a 2007 SLE bar and 2007 bridle conversion for $650. Good deal?

I am a beginner, started last season. I have been flying 2005 Gaastra Force kites. I weigh about 186-190 and normally fly in winds from 10-20kts. Think the kite size is ok for me?

Thanks!

Signature

Shane
East Coast - Boston/Cape Cod
2006 OR One 12m
Naish MTX 132

Total Posts: 467

Joined 2006-06-15

PM

The 16 One is a power house and at your weight and experence I would say a little big. Try and look for a 14 or if the wind is normaly nearer the 20 knott mark look at a 12 One or Rise .
Hope you find one as once I got my first OR kite I havn’t looked back

Total Posts: 1248

Joined 2006-01-10

PM

Nooborkiter, welcome to the Crew!

It’s awesome that you are considering our gear and I have to agree with Sunrise that you will likely never look back. That being said I also agree with Sunrise that the 16m One from last year is a massive kite with a lot of pull but was designed for a heavier man to use. I’d put you in a 14 from this year or, preferably, a 12m of either generation.

If you get the 12m from last year be sure to get it with the bridle modification and you’ll be a happy camper!

Cheers,

JohnZ

Joined 2007-06-01

PM

Thanks for the feedback guys, and the welcome.

I was looking for the 12m originally, but I second guessed myself. The Gaastra I used last year was a 16m and I didn’t get to fly that often because of a lack of wind. I spend about 50% of my kiting time last season slogging on the 16m. I only had to use my 14m a few times. Could I get the 12m One up in the same wind as a 16m (or ideally 18m) C-shape?

I am a former competitive windsurfer, so I like being overpowered rather than underpowered.

Signature

Shane
2006 OR One 12m
Naish MTX 132

Joined 2006-01-10

PM